Council Term of Office

The Knysna Town Council is the highest structure of local government in Knysna.

Council is made up of 21 members. This membership comprises 11 ward councillors, and the other 10 members are proportional representative (PR) councillors.

Number of seats in council by political party

Party Name of Party Number of Seats
Ward PR Total
ANC African National Congress 6 1 7
DA Democratic Alliance 5 3 8
EFF Economic Freedom Fighters 1 1
KIM Knysna Independent Movement 2 2
PA Patriotic Alliance 2 2
PBI Plaaslike Besorgde Inwoners 1 1

The members of Council serve for a term of five years.