Chairperson Elected to the Local Drug Action Committee

Knysna Executive Mayor Aubrey Tsengwa announced that Mark Mosdell, the principal of Knysna High School, was elected as the new chairperson of the Local Drug Action Committee (LDAC) on 4 July. “Our LDAC meets on a quarterly basis and its members share a common goal – reducing substance abuse in our area,” said Tsengwa.

LDACs give effect to the National Drug Master Plan (NDMP) within their respective municipal jurisdictions and must provide feedback to the Western Cape Substance Abuse Forum and the Central Drug Authority once a year. It enforces all activities as stated in the Prevention and Treatment of Substance Abuse Act, act 70 of 2008, chapter 10. The first NDMP was approved in 1999 and is revised every 5 years.  The current plan applies to 2019 to 2024.  The NDMP requires national and provincial government departments to include planning for dealing with substance abuse problems in their normal planning and budgeting.

The main aims of the LDAC for the greater Knysna Municipal area include:

  • developing and implementing a local drug action plan specific to the area;
  • submitting the integrated plan to the Western Cape Substance Abuse Forum;
  • promoting partnerships between stakeholders;
  • highlighting local substance abuse issues;
  • supporting various relevant organisations in carrying out their functions;
  • encouraging networking and a constant flow of information sharing; and
  • submitting an annual report to the Western Cape Substance Abuse Forum.

Knysna’s LDAC consists of representatives from the Department of Health, the Western Cape Education Department, the Knysna Alcohol and Drug Centre, Knysna Municipality, Law Enforcement, the Department of Correctional Services, the Community Police Forum, Knysna Police Services and the Department of Justice.

“Mr Mosdell’s first task will be to create a database that will serve as a directory for family support,” Tsengwa explained. “I am confident that the LDAC will bring about positive change within our communities under his leadership, and thank all its members for their service.”


First row fltr: Lindi Loff (Department of Social Development), Lizel Baatjies (Knysna Municipality), chairperson Mark Mosdell (Western Cape Education Department), Cheryl Britz (Community Police Forum). 

Second row fltr: Thandiswa Ntaka (Department of Correctional Services), Beverley Levings (Loerie Hope Foundation), Donovan Pofadder (Recovery Addiction Program Knysna), Sgt Phambani (SAPS)