Gold and timber, elephants and war…the greater Knysna area has a rich and colourful history.
The Knysna Municipality overseas two museum complexes and incorporates unique historic buildings, all situated in Queen Street in mid-town Knysna.
Situated on the corner of Main Road and Queen Street, the Old Gaol was the first building erected by the Colonial Government in Knysna and was built in 1859 to house convicts en route to the construction camp of the Prince Alfred Pass. It was declared a National Monument in 1992. Today the complex houses displays of the town’s angling and maritime history as well as the Knysna Art Gallery and tea room.
Two blocks down from the Old Gaol, a group of pretty timber and corrugated iron buildings comprise the second museum complex including Millwood House, Parkes Shop, Pitt Street House and Parkes Cottage. Each with its own history, the buildings now house display different aspects of the town’s history including the Millwood Gold Mines, general history, the timber industry, the town’s enigmatic founder George Rex and the Anglo Boer War.
Mondays to Fridays 9.00am to 4.00pm
Saturdays 9.00am to 12.00pm
Millwood House Complex
Mondays to Fridays 9.30am to 4.30pm
Saturdays 9.30am to 12.30pm
Contact Museum Curator Ms Melanie Groenewald:
Telephone: +27 (0)44 302 6320